An Artist’s Journey: I think I might be lost…

Like most artists, I grew up in a world of creativity.  Whether visual arts, music, theater, or dance, I was always immersed in something from the art realm.  Somehow, along the way, domestic duties pushed their way up my ladder of priorities, and ‘art’ became something I doodled on the back of a kid’s menu to entertain my daughter while we waited for our dinner.

A few years ago, I enrolled in a drawing class at Valencia College.  I needed six credit hours to renew my Florida teaching certificate, and I thought it would be an easy A.  It wasn’t.  I worked hard for that A.  My instructor pushed me so far out of my comfort zone I thought I might never find my way back.  Maybe I wasn’t meant to find my way back.  I unexpectedly awakened the fire of creativity in my soul that had dwindled to a glowing ember.  Suddenly, passion was back, and it felt good.  I would find myself lost in a drawing for hours, skipping meals and totally losing track of time. It was like my drawing instructor had handed me a map, and suddenly I knew exactly where I wanted to go.

This blog is the story of my journey back to creativity.  I might have been lost for a few years, but I think I’m back on track now.  And the good news is that I’m never afraid to stop and ask for directions.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “An Artist’s Journey: I think I might be lost…

  1. We have all been there….at the beginning.
    Welcome!!

  2. I did it! At least, I think I did it…I’m a little slow when it comes to technology!

  3. Dave Parker says:

    What I have discovered is that if you stay in your comfort zone, you aren’t learning, or at least could be learning more. I view college as an expansion of my zone. Every class, every day, I want to go further. The good stuff takes work.

Leave a Reply

