Beauty

OCD — graphite

Art can elicit joyful emotions, evoke sorrow, or stir up rusty childhood memories. It can be edgy, provocative, even downright disturbing. But for me, art is about beauty. It’s about putting down on paper what will make the corners of my mouth turn up every time I look at it.

When I render a controversial subject, I still try to capture its beauty. Even the darkest subject can have an incredibly detailed reflection, a rich organic shadow, or an interesting soulful form. I see beauty everywhere–in a crooked smile, a rusted-out fender, an ominous purple storm cloud.

If others can see the beauty in my work, then I have accomplished my goal. For beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, but it must first erupt from the soul of the artist.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Beauty

  1. You’ve been nominated for an award….paste in your browser to read and weep….
    http://jotsfromasmallapt.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/heads-up-its-cloudy-but-lovely/

Leave a Reply

