Could someone push me?

Much like a child sitting on a swing, I sometimes wish someone would push me. Just a few quick shoves to send me soaring into the air, higher and higher, shaking up my adrenaline so it bounces around inside me like a run-away ping pong ball.

When I’m in art class, my instructor and fellow students provide those ‘pushes.’ Whether compliments or critiques, their valuable feedback inspires me to improve my work. When I’m alone in my studio, at times it’s hard to get motivated. I find myself longing for those encouraging hands on my back. After all, it’s much easier to get started with a little push.

As children grow older and wiser, they learn that they don’t always need to be pushed. If they pump their legs fast and hard, they can propel themselves as high as they want to go. In life, everyone reaches a point where there’s no one to push them. If you haven’t learned to pump, you’re not going anywhere. And since I can’t get enough of that ‘flying’ feeling, I’ll just have to pump my legs.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Could someone push me?

  1. It seems as if WordPress is letting me *like* you 4 times over!!! GREAT…works for me….

Leave a Reply

