My Day Off

All classes were cancelled on the west campus of Valencia College last Thursday.  For me, that meant an unexpected day off.  Whatever would I do with an entire day off?  As a wife and mother, I had an endless list to choose from: I could mop and vacuum, organize closets, clean out the fridge and pantry, dust, or do laundry–but the painter in me had a much shorter, completely different priority list:  Paint.

I certainly could have used the time to make corrections on my most recent series, but I had a hidden agenda.  I had spent the last seven weeks tethered to a syllabus that delegated every brush stroke.  On my day off, I just wanted to paint.  And that’s exactly what I did.

“Something Fishy”  Acrylic on canvas

Image

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

