Hold the oil, please

Yesterday, we painted quick figural gestures in oil.  While I loved the creamy consistency of the oil paint, and the fact that it didn’t dry on my palette as quickly as acrylic, there are several reasons why I won’t be using it as my primary medium.

Oil paint has an unpleasant odor, and it’s just plain messy.  It takes days to dry on the canvas, and the clean-up requires the use of a ‘hazardous waste’ container.  I can’t justify painting nature’s fabulous forms when the medium I’m using isn’t environmentally friendly.  I plan to continue painting on my Artist’s Journey, but from now on, “Hold the oil, please!”

“Figural Gesture #3”  Oil on butcher paper

Image

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

