There’s No Place Like Home

On my journey, I love to revel in the beauty of exotic new destinations.  I try to make time to record the flora, fauna, and flavor with pencil or paint.  When my professor assigned a plein air landscape study, I thought about all of the picturesque locations I could paint, then realized I already had the perfect spot in mind–my own backyard.  While my fellow students drove to local parks and gardens, I simply stepped outside.  Beautiful Lake Gatlin, the Shingle Creek conservation, and our frequent wildlife visitors create an amazing retreat right outside my door.  As I attempted to capture the serenity and unique allure of my backyard sanctuary, I was reminded that there truly is no place like home.

Naturalistic Color Study/Value Study/Fauvistic Study–Acrylic

Image

Image

Image

3 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Eve Amaro says:

    You have a great blog and I love it. So I nominated you for the Liebster Award. See my post here: http://eveamaro.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/168/ . 🙂
    A great way to get more bloggers to know about you!

Leave a Reply

