The Climb

The fall semester has ended, my grades are in, and now I can finally breathe again.  Like a hike to the top of a tall mountain, each class I take is a grand trek filled with amazing discoveries and unexpected twists and turns.  There is always a victorious cheer upon reaching the peak, and a feeling of loss as I take the lonely path back down to the base of the mountain.  Next semester, I am registered for ‘Independent Study’ with my painting professor.  This will enable me to concentrate on a body of work, or explore a theme of my choosing.  There are three weeks before I have to lace up my hiking boots and set off on the next leg of my journey.  I can see the top of the mountain, and it looks like a long rocky climb–but I know I can make it.

“Decorated Blacktop”–pen and watercolor on Arches Aquarelle

Image

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Climb

  1. Well done.
    Lace up those boots……!
    Happy Holidays, Sweet-Tea!!!!

Leave a Reply

