Guardians of the Sea

My obsession with sea turtles started when I was young.  One balmy summer night in the late 1960’s, my parents roused my siblings and me from our slumber. Wiping the sleep from our eyes, we walked quietly down to the beach, the full moon lighting our way.  I still remember how cool the damp sand felt under my bare feet.  My mother held her finger to her lips as she led us to the dunes.  There, bathed in silver moonlight, was a huge sea turtle laying her eggs.  We kept our distance and swallowed our gasps, but at the time, it was the most magical thing I had ever witnessed.  And so began my love of sea turtles.  Since then, I have grown to respect the gentle giants and their amazing journeys.  I marvel at the way they lead a double life on land and sea, the way their scutes become individual mosaics detailing their travels, the way their eyes show glimpses of the wisdom they have gained over decades of roaming the Earth’s oceans.  I see them as the silent guardians of the sea.  I can only imagine what things they have seen, the stories they could tell, the secrets they keep.

“Imagine”–Watercolor on Arches Aquarelle

Image

Tagged , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Guardians of the Sea

  1. Lovely paintings. I hope to see some sea turtles up close next week while diving.

  2. I saw a sea turtle this morning underwater. It was close enough to touch.

  3. Suzanne Tamberrino says:

    I like the way you think! 🙂

  4. Awesome majestic animals and your blog! Thank you!

  5. iarxiv says:

    Beautiful combination of colours on all three sea turtles!

Leave a Reply

