A Show of Hands: We’re Number One!

As a female, I can completely identify with sugar, spice, and everything nice. I have never been a ‘sporty’ girl. I was the kid who was always chosen last for a team in PE class.  In all fairness, I was never actually ‘chosen’– it was more like I was put there by default.   I was a timid child who would rather hide from the ball than try to catch it or hit it.  I didn’t like playing sports, discussing sports, or watching sports. In high school, I was a member of the marching band, and that required attendance at all of our football games.  When I was in college, my well-meaning friends and roommates literally dragged me to every single home game.  I would have been quite content to sit in my apartment and read a book, but they insisted I sit in a crowded stadium watching a game I didn’t like and didn’t understand.  That being said, I do find myself rooting for my alma mater, the Florida State Seminoles, during football season.  And while I have absolutely no interest in going to a game or watching one on TV, I can’t help but smile and even cheer a little when I open the morning paper to find that Florida State has won a game. Maybe there’s a little ‘sporty’ in me after all. Go Noles!

“We’re Number One!”–Watercolor, Ink Pen,  and OPI Nail Lacquer

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

